Catching the Funny Virus!

Fiction Magazine recently caught the cast and crew of National Geographic Channel’s famous comedy-science series, Science of Stupid shooting in the Jamia Millia Islamia premises. Directed by Maya Rao, this series stars the famous Manish Paul as the host. Paul, who is known to tickle the funny bones of his audience was also appreciated for his performance in the movie Mickey Virus.

Here is an excerpt of what happened when Fiction caught this Virus.

 

Fiction: What is Manish Paul like when he is not ‘The’ Manish Paul?

Manish Paul: (Laughs) I am just the kind of person I am right now. I play cricket on the sets whenever time allows, I keep pulling pranks and I really enjoy my work. I try to be funny and I like to have a positive energy around myself.

Fiction: You’ve done a variety of in-front-of-the-camera work. What was the ‘turning point’ of your career?

Manish Paul: Firstly, the day that I decided to go to Mumbai. That decision changed my life to what it is today. The ‘turning point’ I would say was when I signed Jhalak Dikhlaa Jaa. That’s when people began to take me more seriously as a host. I started to do things that most hosts were not doing at that time, so yeah. But whatever I did, it was all me, I was being myself and yes, the audience did like it. Most of the stuff I do on-stage is impromptu and I think that’s what the audience likes the best.

Fiction: Where would Manish Paul have been if not in showbiz?

Manish Paul: Honestly, I have no idea, because I always wanted to have an audience for whatever I am doing. Since childhood, I have been actively participating in dramatics, singing, handling the stage, handling my audience et cetera. I guess, I am more of an extrovert. That, I think, is what works for me, and I have no idea what else could have!

Fiction: Do you read things written about you? How often is it relevant and how often a hoax?

Manish Paul: Well, as a matter of fact, I do read about myself whenever there are articles or anything. I like to read about myself, and I frequently find things that make me think Yaar, maine to ye bola nahi thaa, why have they written this. Honestly, I hate controversies and I try my best to be away from them. I try to concentrate on my work since it is the most important thing for me.

Fiction: We all know about your on-screen bonding with Kapil Sharma. Recently, he was in news for his conflict with his co-actors. Has it influenced your friendship with him?

Manish Paul: Kapil and I used to have lots of fun while shooting for Jhalak. Well, he is a busy person now. He has his work and I have mine. So somehow, we do not get time together, but whatever time I did spend with him was fab.

Fiction: Any message which you would like to give?

Manish Paul: Yaar, I would just say that be passionate about whatever you do and just start doing it. There will never be a right time for it until you do it. Dare to dream big, because dreams do come true.

 

Interviewed by Azfar, Tarab, Zaid, Alaika and Mayur.

Stay tuned for the full interview, to be printed in Fiction’s upcoming magazine!

Leave a comment